<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d11612543\x26blogName\x3dBreaking+into+the+Academy\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://mkbabd.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://mkbabd.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d4163910368928998027', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

As a fourth year doctoral candidate, in addition to having completed comprehensive examinations and prospectus and working on the dissertation, my thoughts are also turning towards the job market and securing that first academic position. This purpose of this blog is to chronicle the trials and tribulations of completing my Ph.D. and finding that first job.

Tuesday, April 10, 2007

SCoPE - Serious Games and Virtual Worlds

I got this in my inbox today and figured that some of my readers interested in gaming might enjoy this...

SCoPE - Serious Games and Virtual Worlds
by Sylvia Currie - Monday, 9 April 2007, 10:58 PM

The Serious Games and Virtual Worlds seminar facilitated by Tia Carr Williams and Therese Weel is well underway. Remember that newcomers, latecomers, lurkers, and passersby are always welcome in SCoPE!

We have a number of events and hands-on opportunities planned for the next couple of weeks. Here is a glimpse. Check the seminar event list and discussions for details and updates:

http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/mod/forum/view.php?id=428

*TOMORROW* April 10th Conversation with Ron Edwards, CEO of Ambient Performance on Borocay Island in Second Life (12:00 PDT, 19:00 GMT)

April 13th Remote and simulated, the new laboratory in town with Samia Khan (12:00 PDT, 19:00 GMT)

April 16th Explore 3d environments for K-12 science and social studies with Margaret Corbit (8:00 PDT, 15:00 GMT)

April 17th Tour of Mapping CURA/BCcampus in Second Life with Dan O'Reilly (10:00 PDT, 17:00 GMT)

Tags: , , , conferences, academy, graduate student, graduate students, graduate school, higher education, education

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home